Things I’ve Learned So Far This Year (2013)

Part 1

1. Rescue dogs make the most loving, grateful and loyal companions

We lost our beloved family dog, Brandy the Boxer,  in February this year at the age of 12.  After having a close and loving relationship with Brandy, my house was empty and devoid of the kind of love and companionship that only an animal can give you. More importantly, my grief would not heal.

One Saturday morning I made a visit to our local animal shelter, and found a tiny little black and white ball of fluff shivering in the corner of a pen with a dozen other small white fluffy things bouncing off the walls around her.  This little one did not like being in there with the other mad creatures at all, and was trying to shield herself from them jumping all over her.  As that is how I often feel in my daily life, I could identify with her.   I asked the ranger if I could have a closer look at her.  I took her tiny shivering body in my arms, and found a quiet space to sit down in.  After a few minutes,  she licked me, very cautiously, on the arm.  I made a bold decision then and there, that no matter what battles I would have to fight with my husband to have her in my home,  she was not going back into that pen.

I named her Pippin after one of Tolkien’s Hobbits from Lord of the Rings.  Like a Hobbit, she is small and has hairy feet, a self-effacing nature and is completely devoid of any ego.  She has become my shadow.  The whole family have embraced her (including my husband) and it has been a delight to see her settle into her new home, to see her begin to flourish and er….put on a little bit of ahem, weight.  In three short months, she has made a place in our home, and in my heart.  My grief has completely healed, and I know that Brandy, wherever he is, is looking down on us in approval.  He knew it was his time to go.  So did I.  It didn’t make it any easier.  But giving a new life to another little creature in need has given me new life too.

IMG_1754 IMG_1758

2 thoughts on “Things I’ve Learned So Far This Year (2013)

  1. Pingback: 5 Things I’ve Learned So Far This Year: Part 3 | love life style and stuff

Leave a Reply

